At the Canola Council of Canada’s (CCC) annual general meeting held virtually last week, President Jim Everson presented the 2020 annual report: Resilient. Responsive. Ready.

“It was a year of many challenges – some that were expected, and others that we could not have imagined just one year ago,” said Everson. “But by leveraging our strengths, we rose to the challenges. In a disruptive year, we saw how resilient the entire value chain can be.”

In his presentation, Everson highlighted progress driven by teamwork in all pillars of the CCC’s strategic plan, including:

Sustainable, reliable supply – Quick action that kept information and inputs flowing to mitigate impacts of COVID-19 on the growing season. This included working closely with partners to ensure vital agronomic research could move ahead, and continuing to bring together steering committees to help tackle the toughest production risks like clubroot, blackleg and sclerotinia.

Stable and open trade – Value chain consultation to renew the CCC’s market access plan, as well as the fourth year of partnership with Cereals Canada and Pulse Canada to help growers produce market-ready crops through the Keep it Clean program.

Differentiated value – Virtual trade visits, often involving CCC members, trade commissioners and other industry experts, that ensured the quality characteristics of canola seed, oil and meal were demonstrated and understood in target markets around the world.

The CCC’s AGM welcomed two new members to the CCC board of directors for 2021/22.

New to the CCC board of directors are:
Charles Fossay, nominated by the Manitoba Canola Growers
Bernie McClean, nominated by the Canadian Canola Growers Association

The CCC board also renewed Charlene Bradley’s position as chair for a one-year term.


Nominated by canola grower associations:

Charlene Bradley, SaskCanola
Chuck Fossay, Manitoba Canola Growers
Bernie McClean, Canadian Canola Growers Association
Kevin Serfas, Alberta Canola

Nominated by the Canadian Oilseed Processors Association:

Michael Irons, Archer Daniels Midland Company
Ryan Law, Bunge
Tracy Lussier, Louis Dreyfus Company
Jeff Pleskach, Cargill Ltd.

Nominated by the Western Grain Elevator Association:

Jarrett Beatty, Parrish & Heimbecker
Jennifer Marchand, Cargill Ltd.
Dean McQueen, Viterra
Trevor Veenendaal, G3

Nominated by life science companies:

Garth Hodges, BASF
David Kelner, Bayer
Brad Orr, Corteva Agriscience