Jeff Genung has been acclaimed mayor of Cochrane for a second term after no one filed papers to contest him before nominations closed at noon today.

It's the complete opposite for the six seats available on town council. A total of 19 people are seeking the six seats, including all six members of the current council. The list doesn't become official until Sept. 21 at noon.

Many had put their names forward in advance of today, but a few more were added before the noon deadline.

Seeking election are Kaitlin Chamberlain, Alan Cox, Paul Gregory Crierie, Brandon Michael Cruze, Daniel Cunin, Marni Fedeyko, Susan Flowers, Erika Lange, Tara McFadden, Ryan McMillan, Todd Muir, Alexander William Murphy, Deborah Murphy, Morgan Nagel, Samantha Lynn Nickerson, Alex Reed, Paul Singh, Bruce Townley, and Patrick Wilson. 

The last municipal election in 2017 saw three people run for mayor and 15 for town council.

Election day is Monday, October 18, 2021. Advance voting is available beginning October 9, 2021. Those elected will serve a four-year term.

For more information on the election, including polling station locations, ID requirements, advance polls, and special ballots, visit