Mountain View County is the latest jurisdiction to issue a total fire ban.

It requires all outdoor burning fires to be extinguished, and the lighting of any outdoor fires is banned. The only exceptions are internal household fireplaces, barbecues, and AER flaring.

All current fire and fireworks permits have been cancelled, and no new ones will be issued until the ban has been lifted.

Fire ban information can be obtained on the Mountain View County website or by contacting the Mountain View County office at 403-335-3311.

Two dozen Alberta jurisdictions have fire bans in place and many more have issued fire advisories. There are currently 52 active fires in the province, none in this area.

Additional information on current fire bans can be found here.