On Saturday, April 10, Premier Kenney made an announcement regarding the expansion of the vaccine rollout. 

Phase 2C of the vaccine rollout will begin Monday, April 12. That means that nurses, doctors, dentists, and any healthcare workers in inpatient care facilities will be eligible to receive the vaccine. Once again, due to limited vaccine supply, all other groups in phase 2C will have to wait for an announcement of eligibility in the coming weeks.

Those eligible as of Monday include:

Physicians, nurses, pharmacists, dentists, and all other healthcare professionals and their office or support staff who provide in-person, direct patient care.

Individuals working in inpatient care facilities or providing services directly to clients in the community for Alberta Health Services, Covenant Health, Alberta Precision Labs, DynaLife, and students undertaking placement practicums in clinical areas. Health-care workers on First Nation reserves and Metis Settlements.

For a complete list of those eligible click here.

Anyone who is eligible in Phase 1, 2A, or 2B for Alberta’s vaccine rollout and has not received their vaccination yet is encouraged to book an appointment through participating pharmacies or AHS.

Premier Kenney also announced that rapid testing will be ramped up in junior and senior high schools in order to keep in-class learning going. Over 400,000 tests will be made available to eight school boards: Edmonton Catholic School District, Edmonton Public Schools, Calgary Board of Education, Calgary Catholic Schools, Grande Prairie & District Catholic Schools, Grande Prairie Public School Division, Holy Spirit Catholic School Division and Lethbridge School Division.

As of yet, Rocky View Schools is not eligible, however teams may also be deployed to a school outside of the four communities when Alberta Health identifies a need at a specific school.