Alberta’s government and four First Nations signed a historic agreement today to build a brighter future for members of the Stoney Nakoda-Tsuut’ina Tribal Council.

The Alberta-Stoney Nakoda-Tsuut’ina Tribal Council Protocol Agreement outlines a formal process for ministers, chiefs and councils to meet several times throughout the year on key priority areas identified by the council: health, economic growth, education, and family services and housing

The protocol agreement is a broad umbrella under which the two governments can undertake discussions, share information, and explore issues of mutual concern.  

The agreement also commits to an annual meeting between the chiefs of the tribal council and Premier Jason Kenney.

The Stoney Nakoda-Tsuut’ina Tribal Council includes the three nations that form Stoney-Nakoda: Bearspaw First Nation, Chiniki First Nation, and Wesley First Nation. It also includes the Tsuut’ina Nation. Together, they have more than 8,000 members.

The Alberta government is providing the tribal council a $200,000 grant to support the agreement’s implementation. The agreement will remain in place for as long as both parties wish to keep it active.