Airdrie-Cochrane electors have the opportunity to choose from a list of five candidates in the 2023 provincial general election.

Nominations closed today (May 11) at 2 p.m. and Elections Alberta officials have just finished their review.

The candidates are: Michael Andrusco, Solidarity Movement of Alberta; Shaun Fluker, Alberta NDP; Michelle Overwater Giles, Green Party of Alberta; Peter Guthrie, UCP; and Ron Voss, Wildrose Loyalty Coalition.

There are 14 registered political parties for the election and 349 nominated candidates.

Electors have four options for voting.

Election Day

On election day, Monday, May 29, electors must vote at their assigned voting place.  All voting locations will be open from 9 a.m. to 8 p.m. 

Advance Voting

Advance voting starts on Tuesday, May 23, and continues daily, ending on Saturday, May 27.  Any eligible elector may vote at any advance voting location in Alberta.

Special Ballot Voting

Special ballot voting is available at the Elections Alberta head office in Edmonton, in the elector’s local returning office, and by mail for electors that are unable to vote in advance or on Election Day due to:

  • Physical disability,
  • Absence from their electoral division,
  • Being an inmate,
  • Being an election officer, candidate, official agent, or scrutineer,
  • Living in a remote area, as defined in the Election Act, or
  • Being displaced by emergency or disaster, such as fire or flood.

Mobile Voting

Residents, inpatients, or individuals receiving supports and services from treatment centres, hospitals, supportive living and long-term care facilities, shelters and community support centres may vote at a mobile voting station for the facility if one has been established.

More information on voting options and where to vote is available here.

Elections Alberta is an independent, non-partisan office of the Legislative Assembly of Alberta responsible for administering provincial elections, by-elections, and referenda.