A fire ban is now in place for all of Alberta's Forest Protection Areas (FRA).

The fire ban came into effect at 4 p.m. on July 10 as a result of hot and dry conditions. Since July 1, 137 new wildfires have ignited and there's heightened wildfire danger throughout the province.

Cities, towns, villages and summer villages, as well as federal lands, such as national parks, are exempt from this ban. These jurisdictions have the authority to issue their own bans and may have complementary bans in place.

Albertans should visit the website or social media for their local municipality to confirm if a fire ban is in effect in their area.

Prohibitions under the ban

As a result of the fire ban in the FRA, all fire permits issued by Alberta’s government are now suspended or cancelled, and no new fire permits will be issued while the ban is in place. Certain allowances can be made for essential agricultural or industrial burning, but only when approved by a forest officer.

Under this ban, all outdoor wood fires, including wood campfires on public land, private land, designated campgrounds and backyard firepits are strictly prohibited in the FRA. In addition to these restrictions, Albertans may not use a charcoal briquette barbeque, fireworks or exploding targets. It is crucial that Albertans avoid any activities that fall under this ban to prevent new wildfires from breaking out.

Activities permitted under the ban

Albertans may still use propane- and natural gas-powered appliances, and indoor wood fires inside a structure, such as a building, tent or RV, that are contained within a device with a chimney and spark arrestor.   

Albertans play an important role in keeping our province safe this wildfire season. If you see a wildfire, report it immediately by calling 310-FIRE. And remember, over the past five years, 67 per cent of wildfires have been caused by human activity, meaning prevention is a shared responsibility.

Information is updated regularly on: