The Alberta government announced on Thursday (Feb. 2) that they would be investing $15-million in accessible transit across the province. 

Edmonton and Calgary will each receive $4.5-million while an additional $6-million will be used to support low-income transit pass programs across the province.

"We recognize the importance of transit, especially for those who rely on it to meet their essential needs," said Jeremy Nixon, the Minister of Seniors, Community and Social Services.

"Transportation to a job, to school or a doctor’s appointment is not optional, which is why our government is proud to support low-income transit pass programs.”

Matt Jones, the Minister of Affordability and Utilities, says this investment is key to the current government's Affordability Action Plan. 

“This investment will help make public transit more accessible and affordable for those who rely on it for work and their everyday transportation needs," said Jones. 

The following Alberta communities currently employ a low-income transit pass program:

  • Airdrie 
  • Banff
  • Canmore
  • Cochrane
  • Cold Lake
  • Fort Saskatchewan
  • Grande Prairie
  • Medicine Hat
  • St. Albert
  • Strathcona County

The funds going to these communities will be available to help pay for operating costs. 

The details on how communities can access this funding will be shared directly with eligible municipalities at a later date.