Albertans are encouraged to nominate remarkable community members, leaders and innovators for membership in the Alberta Order of Excellence. 

The Order is the province’s highest honour and recognizes citizens who have made a significant and lasting contribution to their communities.  Members include Olympians, scientists, volunteers, leaders in business, and artists. A total of 212 Albertans have been invested into the Alberta Order of Excellence since it was established in 1979.

Nominations are accepted year-round but must be received by Feb. 15 to be considered for investiture this year.

Nominees must be Canadians citizens currently residing in Alberta and, if selected, must be able to attend the investiture ceremony. People cannot nominate themselves, their spouse or a member of their immediate family.

Former Prime Minister Stephen Harper, who resides in Bragg Creek, was named to the order last year.

Information about the Order, including nomination guidelines, nomination forms and biographies of previous inductees is available on the Alberta Order of Excellence website.

Information is also available by calling 780-449-0517.